In EMSTesting or Platinum Tests, flagging is used for Students. Flagging them at the course means that they will not be able to log into their Student role for that course or any of its associated classes. In addition, flagged Students no longer appear on Reports. This means that a flagged Student who dropped out the first day of class will not mess with any of the class averages or totals when running end of the year reporting.
In Platinum Planner, flagging something generally means turning something off or deactivating it. There are quite a few things that can be flagged in Platinum Planner, such as:
School Administrators – Flagging a School Administrator deactivates that level of access. That user could still log into the program if they had access to other roles (ex. Preceptor, Instructor, etc.), but they would lose access to their School Administrator role. Flagging a School Administrator usually comes into play if they are no longer associated with the school.
Instructors – Flagging an Instructor works the same way as flagging a School Administrator. The user will no longer be able to log into their Instructor role, but can still log into any other roles they have access to (that aren’t flagged). It’s good to keep note of which classes that Instructor was associated with so you can assign a new Instructor to the class if the flagged Instructor was the only one associated with it previously.
Students – If a Student drops out of the program, flagging them means that they will not be able to log into their Student role for that course or any of its associated classes. In addition, flagged Students no longer appear on Reports. This means that a flagged Student who dropped out the first day of class will not mess with any of the class averages or totals when running end of the year reporting.
Preceptors – Flagging a Preceptor means that Preceptor will not be able to log into that account. It also means that the Preceptor will no longer appear in the list of Preceptors that Students have available to choose from when completing clinical documentation. This is usually the route taken if a duplicate Preceptor account is created.
Clinical Sites – Flagging a Clinical Site will also flag all Clinical Site Locations associated with the Clinical Site. While a Clinical Site is flagged, no new opportunities can be created at that Site. Any students who have clinical opportunities (upcoming or in the past) for a flagged Clinical Site, will receive an email stating the Location associated with that opportunity has been flagged.
Clinical Site Locations – Flagging a Clinical Site Location only flags one of the locations within a site. An example would be the ICU will be closed for remodeling for the next 3 months, while the rest of the hospital is open. No new opportunities can be created at the flagged Location. Any students who have clinical documentation (upcoming or in the past) for a flagged Clinical Site Location will receive an email stating the Location associated with that opportunity has been flagged.
Calendar Emails – Flagging Calendar Emails under “Manage Calendar Emails” in the School Administrator role will prevent that calendar from being sent. This is usually done if the clinical site is no longer being utilized, or if no calendar needs to be sent for an extended period of time, such as no clinical opportunities over the summer.
Shared Clinical Sites – Flagging a Shared Clinical Site means that Students cannot sign up for any opportunities associated with that Shared Site. This is often done if the Shared Site has year-long access to an area (like ER/ED), but you do not want students to be able to access that area at the current time.
“Unflagging” – Reactivating something that has been flagged is usually done with the “Unflag” button. This button is typically located where the “Flag” button originally was, though the flagged item may now be in a new tab titled “Flagged”.
Unflagging sites allow new opportunities to be created there, unflagging scheduled calendar emails will cause the system to begin sending them out again, and unflagging a user will allow them to log back into the website in that role.
If you still have questions please feel free to give us a call at 616-818-7877 or send in support request via the "Contact Us" button.